Subseries - By-elections, civic elections, and other electoral materials

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

By-elections, civic elections, and other electoral materials

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title supplied based on the contents of the subseries.

Level of description


Reference code

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1986 - 1997 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

Approximately 0.2m of materials, including:

  • 35 photographs (BC2151-795/820; BC2151-852/859; BC2151-867)
  • 31 photographic negatives (BC2151-821/851)
  • 7 photographic contact sheets (BC2151-860/866)
  • textual materials

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Custodial history

Scope and content

This subseries consists of files from several different individual creators, relating primarily to by-elections and civic elections, with some materials in file 398-11 that relate to the federal electoral district of Okanagan-Shushwap.

Elections covered by the series include:

  • The 1988 Surrey municipal election, in which the Surrey Civic Electors ran as an NDP-supported party
  • The 1988 federal election in the newly created riding of Okanagan-Shushwap, in which Lyle MacWilliam of the NDP ran and won
  • The 1989 Cariboo by-election, called after the death of MLA Alexander Fraser, in which NDP member David Zirnhelt was elected.
  • The 1989 Oak Bay-Gordon Head by-election, called after the resignation of MLA Brian Smith, in which NDP member Elizabeth Cull was elected.
  • The 1994 Matsqui by-election, called after the resignation of MLA Peter Dueck, in which NDP member Sam Wagar was originally uncontested for NDP nomination in the riding, until a controversy surrounding his Wiccan religious beliefs prompted a second nomination election, which Wagar lost by two votes to Lynn Fairall. In the election, Fairall was defeated by Liberal Party member Mike de Jong.
  • The 1995 Abbotsford by-election, called after the resignation of MLA Harry de Jong, in which NDP member Rollie Kieth was defeated by Liberal Party member John van Dongen.
  • The 1997 Surrey-White Rock by-election, called after the resignation of MLA Wilf Hurd, in which NDP member David Thompson was defeated by Liberal Party member Gordon Hogg.

Creators included in this subseries include:

  • Elaine Bernard, Provincial President (files 398-10/11)
  • Ron Johnson, Communications Director (files 398-12 to 399-02)
  • Carol Adams, Communications officer (file 399-03)
  • Hans Brown, Provincial Secretary (files 399-04/05)
  • Lin Rubin, Director of Administration (file 399-06)
  • Patrice Pratt, Provincial President (file 399-07)
  • Sherry Hyde, Director of Administration (file 399-08)
  • Brian Gardiner, Provincial Secretary (files 399-09 to 400-01)

The subseries includes correspondence, media clippings, drafts, campaign materials, leaftlets, public communcations and memoranda, polls, and other related materials.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


The files in this subseries were generally located in boxes containing materials by a variety of creators performing different functions over a broad range of time. As such, the original order of these files, and the relationships they shared with other files is unknown, because the records had been stored at the Provincial Office for upwards of 20 years before their transfer to RBSC, in which time they had been reordered by at least one Executive Secretary, and appraised off-site and reboxed before their transfer. The files have therefore been arranged chronologically and grouped into this subseries, with the individual creators of each (as determined by examining the file contents) indicated here, and at the file level.

Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

See the "Records of the Director of Organization" subseries of this fonds for further coverage of provincial by-elections. Materials directly related to by-elections covered in this subseries (Abbotsford, Cariboo, Matsqui, Quilchena, and Surrey-White Rock) have been cross-referenced at the file level. Further by-elections covered there include: Alberni, Nanaimo, Parksville-Qualicum, and Port Moody-Coquitlam. Files 423-14 to 423-22 also contain records relating to civic elections.

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


External sources for the scope and content note:

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres