

Ottawa February 2.-(P)-Federal Government efforts to hall the rust scourge in western wheatfields by large-scale distribution of a rust resistant wheat variety was an-nounced today by Hon. J. G. Gardiner, Minister of Agriculture. More than 6,000 bushels of the new variety, named Renown, will be distributed at \$2 a bushel to farmers in rust-affected areas in the prairie provinces. Although each applicant is limited to two bushels of this test wheat, enough applica-tions have been received already to exhaust the supply when distribu-tion is made. The new wheat will be distributed from the following points: Indian Head, Brandon, Portage la Prairie, Arborg, Dugald, Gilbert Plains, Guntom, Katrime, Petersfield, Plu-mas, Roblin, Silverton, Swan River and Pipestone. "It should be understood the seed under consideration does not possess

mas, Roblin, Silverton, Swan River and Pipestone.
"It should be understood the seed under consideration does not possess any special standing other than that of belonging to a new variety capable of resisting rust," said Dr. L. H. Newman, Dominion cerealist.
"We want the farmers to give it a fair trial and report next autumn giving their observances as to how it compares with other varieties grown nearby."
Dr. Needham sad the Renown variety was produced by Dr. C. H. Goulden at the Dominion Rus Resistant Laboratory, Winnipeg.
He said three varieties of rust resistant wheat are now produced, namely Renown, Apex and Thatcher, The Dominion Department of Agriculture is concerned officially only with the distribution of Renown.
Apex is a variety developed at the University of Saskatchewan.

nown. Apex is a variety developed at the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, from a composite cross-ing programme involving the varie-ties, Marquis, Kanred and Iumillo. Thatcher variety was produced from a cross made at the Minne-sota agricultural experimental sta-tion, St. Paul, Minn. It was grown on many farms throughout Mani-toba and Saskatchewan in 1936. Apex is being distributed by the University of Saskatchewan.