Fonds UBCA-ARC-1245 - Chancellor's Office fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Chancellor's Office fonds

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on the provenance of the fonds

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

1.9 m of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The 1908 University Act articulates the duties of the Chancellor as a member of the Board of Governors and a member of the Senate. Over the years, the official functions of the Chancellor have also evolved to include the duty of conferring all degrees granted by the University, serving as chair of Convocation, and undertaking the unofficial honour of representing the University on social and ceremonial occasions. The Chancellor is elected by members of the Convocation to hold the office for a three-year term and may be re-elected but may not hold office for more than six consecutive years. In addition, the Chancellor serves as the ceremonial head of the University. Since 1912, the Chancellors of UBC have been Francis Lovett Carter-Cotton (1912-18), Robert E. McKechnie (1918-44), Eric W. Hamber (1944-51), Sherwood Lett (1951-57), Albert E. Grauer (1957-61), Phyllis Ross (1961-66), John M. Buchanan (1966-69), Allan M. McGavin (1969-72), Nathan T. Nemetz (1971-75), Donovan F. Miller (1975-78), John V. Clyne (1978-84), W. Robert Wyman (1984- 87), Leslie R. Peterson (1987-93), Robert H. Lee (1993-96), William Sauder (1996-2002), Allan McEachern (2002-07), Sarah Morgan-Silvester (2008-2014), Lindsay Gordon (2014-2020) and Steven Lewis Point (2020).

Custodial history

Scope and content

Fonds consists of correspondence, clippings, speeches, minutes, financial records and subject files created by the Chancellor's Office in the process of carrying out of its administrative and ceremonial functions as well as in the Chancellor's role as a member of the Senate. In addition, the fonds includes personal papers created by John M. Buchanan, Allan M. McGavin and Nathan T. Nemetz while holding the position of Chancellor.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

These are institutional records and subject to the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. Researcher access to these records is subject to review.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Online Finding Aid
Please see finding aid for an inventory of files.

Uploaded finding aid

Associated materials

Other records relating to the governance of the University can be found in the Senate, Board of Governors, and President's Office fonds.


General note

Short biographies of the three Chancellors whose personal papers are included in the fonds are also available in hard copy.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area