Fonds UBCA-ARC-1335 - Department of Economics fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Department of Economics fonds

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on the provenance of the fonds

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1977-2002 (Creation)
    University of British Columbia. Dept. of Economics

Physical description area

Physical description

23.5 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The UBC Department of Economics, Sociology and Political Science was established in 1915 within the Faculty of Arts. However, there were no officers and staff in the department at that time. Instead, three courses in economics were offered by Samuel Mack Eastman, assistant professor of the Department of History. Theodore H. Boggs became the first professor of economics in 1917 and head of the department in 1920 when Henry F. Angus joined him. In 1931, Angus succeeded Boggs, and he served as a head until 1956.
Meanwhile, the department name was changed to the Department of Economics, Political Science, Commerce, and Sociology in 1934. Five years later, the Department of Commerce was created. The department was then renamed the Department of Economics, Political Science, and Sociology. A program leading to a master's degree in economics was offered in 1926, and a doctoral program was instituted in 1962. The Department of Economics and Political Science was divided into separate units; the Department of Economics and the Department of Political Science in 1964. The Department of Economics belongs to the Faculty of Arts that administers all departments and programmes in the humanities, social sciences, and creative arts. The department is responsible for teaching, research, and service to the university, profession, and community economics. Other heads of the department have been John J. Deutsch (1956-1959), Joseph A. Crumb (1959-1960), John H. Young (1960-1966), Anthony D. Scott (1966-1969), A. Milton Moore (1969-1973), Ronald A. Shearer (1973-1977), John G. Cragg (1977-1986), Samuel P. S. Ho (1986-1990), John F. Helliwell (1990-1993), William C. Riddell (1993-1997), Ashok Kotwal (1997-2002), and Angela Redish (2002- ).

Custodial history

Scope and content

Fonds consists of minutes of meetings and reports about the administration and activities of the department. The records are arranged in three series: Departmental minutes; Annual reports, Departmental reviews.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

Transferred from the Department of Economics, January 29, 2003.


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

These are institutional records and subject to the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. Researcher access to these records is subject to review.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Online Finding Aid
Please see the finding aid for an inventory of files.

Uploaded finding aid

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area