# Department of Philosophy fonds

Compiled by Erwin Wodarczak (2021)

\*\*\* Institutional records -- researcher access subject to review \*\*\*

**University of British Columbia Archives** 





## **Table of Contents**

- Fonds Description
  - o Title / Dates of Creation / Physical Description
  - o Administrative History
  - o Scope and Content
  - o Notes
- Catalogue entry (UBC Library catalogue)

### **Fonds Description**

**Department of Philosophy fonds.** – 1988-1990.

1 folder of textual records.

#### **Administrative History**

The Department of Philosophy dates from the beginnings of UBC, being founded in 1915 as one of the original departments in the Faculty of Arts. Its aim over its history has been to use the study of philosophy to develop students' critical-thinking abilities for important questions about life, thought, knowledge, and social and intellectual traditions, and to help prepare them to be successful in both academic and professional fields. Today, the Department offers major, minor, and honours degrees in philosophy, as well as combined majors in philosophy and economics, philosophy and political science, history and philosophy of science, and cognitive systems. Masters and Ph.D. programmes are also offered.

James Henderson was the sole member of the Department from its establishment until 1920, when H.T.J. Coleman was appointed head. Coleman was succeeded by J.A. Irving in 1940, followed by S.N.F. Chant in 1945. The Department was re-named Philosophy and Psychology in 1936 to reflect the expansion of psychology course offerings. Psychology became a separate department in 1958, and Barnett Savery was appointed Head of Philosophy that same year and remained in that position until 1969. Other Department heads over the years have been Peter Remnant (1970-76, 1986-87), Robert J. Rowan (1976-80), James C. Dybikowski (1980-84), Edwin Levy (1985-86), Howard Jackson (1988-94), Earl R. Winkler (1995-98), Mohan Matthen (1999-2004), Margaret Schabas (2005-09), Paul Bartha (2009-12, 2017-18), Alan Richardson (2013-16), and Matt Bedke (2019-).

#### Scope and Content

Fonds consists of records documenting a review of the Department of Philosophy in 1988 and the Department's response to that review, and the development of a five-year plan for the Department (1989-90).

#### Notes

Fonds consists of institutional records – access requests must be reviewed by the University's FOIPOP Coordinator.

Title based on the contents of the fonds.

Further accruals are expected.

Stored with University Archives' vertical files at VF 121.