Series - George Dickson Walker

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

George Dickson Walker

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1 January 1939-16 July 1981 (Creation)
    Walker, George Dickson

Physical description area

Physical description

15 cm of textual materials and other materials

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

(19 July 1889-11 July 1981)

Biographical history

George Dickson Walker was born July 19th, 1889 in Belfast, Northern Ireland. His parents were William John Walker (2 January 1842 - ?) and Rachel Walker née Dickson (28 February 1852 - ?). George studied psychology at the University of Belfast and later theology at Magee College and the Assembly’s College. In 1914 George moved from Northern Ireland to England where he in Lancashire, Northumberland, and Stafford before moving to the Jersey in the Channel Islands in 1936. During this period he married a woman named Sophia Elizabeth Graham with whom he had one child, a daughter named Norah. During the First World War, George provided service through the YMCA between March and July 1917 for special non-combatant duty to the Indian Cavalry in France without rank. During his service, he sustained injuries from a burn. In an early 1940s newspaper interview in San Diego, George describes working for an ambulance service in London during the war.

From 1919 to 1936, George worked as a psychotherapist for the Presbyterian Church of England. He moved with his family to Channel Islands to work as a minister. Shortly after arriving there his marriage ended due, according to his U.S. immigration paperwork, to desertion on the part Elizabeth. Two years earlier was when George met Hanne Wassermann, although the details of their meeting and the early years of their relationship are unclear. It is possible they met in England during one of Hanne’s trips there or while George was visiting Vienna or Brioni, Italy, which are all places Hanne taught fitness classes at various times over the years.

Together with Hanne and her mother, George immigrated to the United States in 1940. He was arrested in Reno, Nevada, for allegedly skipping out on a hotel bill; however, the charge was eventually dropped. He and Hanne travelled across the country, eventually settling in La Jolla, California, until 1942 when he was hired by St. Andrew’s United Church in North Vancouver to serve as a minister in Squamish. George moved to British Columbia first, and the next year, after they were married in Los Angeles, California, Hanne joined him.

George enjoyed the outdoors and boating, and was very fond of the pet dogs he and his wife owned. Little information is available about his relationship with his daughter, who survived the war and was living in the United Kingdom; she is mentioned in some of the correspondence he received from Northern Ireland.

George died on July 11th, 1981.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Series consists of materials related to the life of George Dickson Walker immediately preceding his immigration to North America and the rest of his time spent living both in the U.S. and Canada. The bulk of these materials is correspondence, however, other records include paperwork and ephemera related to his immigration process, official records (e.g. divorce application, official affidavit, etc.), and some research he had done, likely pertaining to his own personal writing.

Notes area

Physical condition

Materials are in good condition, although a number of records were torn into large pieces and consequently needed to be housed in mylar sleeves

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Generated finding aid

Associated materials

Related materials


Physical description

Includes: 15 cm of textual materials and 5 small b&w photographs.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres