Series - Literary projects

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Literary projects

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1987-2010 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

5.98 m of textual documents
0.5 meters of graphic material
ca. 100 photographs

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Custodial history

Scope and content

Series consists of records relating primarily to Coupland’s 21 published literary works (14 fiction and 7 non-fiction). Records in this series include:

  • Annotated handwritten and typed drafts of major works
  • Correspondence with publishers
  • Cover mock-ups
  • Pre-draft conceptual writings
  • Research notes and
  • Photographs and graphic material related to Coupland’s pictorial non-fiction books
  • Publicity material relating to books including stickers, tshirts and posters

Series includes records related to the following projects:


  • Player One (2010)
  • Generation A (2009)
  • Extinction Event stylebook (Extinction Event is a 2009 television series in which Coupland has been involved).
  • The Gum Thief (2007)
  • JPod (2006)
  • Eleanor Rigby (2004)
  • Hey Nostradamus! (2003)
  • All Families are Psychotic (2001)
  • God Hates Japan (2001)
  • 2080 Stylebook (a unique hand-book about the future created by Coupland that later influenced his other pictorial works such as Souvenir of Canada, ca. 2000)
  • Miss Wyoming (1999)
  • Girlfriend in a Coma (1997)
  • Microserfs (1995)
  • Life After God (1993)
  • Canada Goose (self-published novella, 1993)
  • Shampoo Planet (1992)
  • Generation X (1991)
  • 1991 (unpublished novel written ca. 1982)


  • Extraordinary Canadians: Marshall McLuhan (2009)
  • Terry-The Life of Canadian Terry Fox (2005)
  • Souvenir of Canada 2 (2004)
  • School Spirit (2002)
  • Souvenir of Canada (2002)
  • City of Glass (2000)
  • Polaroids from the Dead (1996)

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres