St. John's College

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

St. John's College

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



St. John's College UBC is a graduate residential college for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and visiting scholars worldwide who study and teach at the University of British Columbia. St. John's College was founded in 1997 by agreement between The Johanneans Educational Foundation and UBC. St. John's University was one of China's most prestigious and influential universities before the institution was forcibly closed down in 1952 following the successful communist revolution. Symbolically, the College is next to the Pacific Ocean facing Asia. The First Principle of the new St. John's College, Grant Ingram, took office in August 1997. St. John's College seeks to inspire a global vision and foster a community spirit among its residents and alumni through multicultural education, intercultural understanding and international exchange. The College is committed to enriching the intercultural and cultural life of the University. Furthermore, it strives to embody the academic excellence and public service traditions inherited from its founders, St. John's University Shanghai alumni.
St. John's University was established in 1879 as St. John's College by Samuel Isaac Joseph Schereschewsky, the Anglican Bishop of Shanghai. St. John's began teaching 39 students, mainly in Chinese. Subsequently, more college courses were offered. In 1896, St. John's was reformed; and in 1905, it was granted university status and started to confer bachelor's degrees. Gradually, the number of registered students began to expand, and various schools were established, including arts, science, medicine, and theology. In 1913, a graduate-level school was founded. The University began to accept female students in 1936. St. John's University was one of the 14 renowned universities established in China before founding the Peoples Republic of China. Up until 1947, the University was approved to register with the then Chinese government. St. John's combined with three other schools -- Shanghai University, Soo Chow University and Hangchow Christian College and formed Shanghai United Christian University on August 13, 1937. As a result, St. John's University gained an international reputation as one of the most prestigious universities in China. The University was famously known as "the cradle of diplomats in China" or even "Harvard in the Far East." St. John's became independent from the American Anglican Church in 1952. In the same year, the Ministry of Education in China reconstructed the departments and faculties of St. John's University. The journalism program was incorporated into Fudan University, architecture into Tongji University, economics into the Shanghai University of Finance and Economics, politics into the East China University of Politics and Law, Chinese language and culture into East China Normal University, and the medical school into Shanghai No. 2 Medical University, which became the School of Medicine at Shanghai Jiaotong University in 2005. Thus, St. John's University became history. The initial English motto of St. John's is "Light and Truth." However, the Chinese motto, originated from Confucius, is "Learning without thinking is labour lost; thinking without learning is perilous." Both mottos are incorporated into the emblem of the former University.
During the first world reunion of St. Johns's alumni "or Johanneans "in 1988, they promised to uphold the spirit of St. John's by starting new educational enterprises and, if possible, restore St. Johns University, their alma mater. Therefore, this vision led to the founding of the Xinpu Institute of Technology in Taiwan, subsequently renamed St. John's University of Science and Technology, which gradually became a comprehensive university. This view also motivated the establishment of St. John's College at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver in 1997. The Johanneans continue to contribute to society from all walks of life.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places