The Ubyssey

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

The Ubyssey

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Anon
  • Anonymous
  • Ubicee

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



UBC's student newspaper was first issued under the title Anon, then Anonymous, before becoming the Ubicee in 1916. In 1918, the newspaper officially became The Ubyssey and its first issue was published in October of that year. Editors and contributors over the years have included Deb Hope, Pat Carney, Pierre Berton, Eric Nicol, Joe Schlesinger, Allan Fotheringham, Michael Valpy, Stephen Scobie, Bruce Arthur, and Earle Birney. Other notable alumni include cartoonist Katherine Collins, photographer Jeff Wall and prime minister John Turner.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places