University of British Columbia. Dept. of Anthropology and Sociology

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

University of British Columbia. Dept. of Anthropology and Sociology

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The departments of Economics, Political Science, Anthropology and Sociology, made up the Social Sciences at UBC until 1956. That year the Social Sciences were split to form two Schools, the School of Anthropology and Sociology under Harry Hawthorne and the School of Economics and Political Science led by John B. Deutch. The Criminology programme was part of Hawthorne's new school for a time but was later incorporated into the School of Social Work. The School of Anthropology and Sociology was later referred to as a department.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Unknown Author,Social Science Split to Form Two Schools, The Ubyssey, 14 May 1956, accessed July 2022.

Unknown Author, Faculty Receive Aid for Research Travel, UBC Reports, Vol. 4 No. 5, May 1958, accessed July 2022.

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places