University of British Columbia. Dept. of Geography

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

University of British Columbia. Dept. of Geography

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Department of Geology and Mineralogy was one of the University of British Columbia's original departments. In 1922/23, the name was changed to Geology and Geography. The department was separated into two divisions in the Faculty of Arts and Science. In 1959, the Department of Geography was placed within the Faculty of Arts. And the Department of Geology in the Faculty of Science. The Department of Geography has been headed by Lewis Robinson (1959-1968), John C. Chapman (1968-1974), Robert Smith (1975-1982), Olav Slaymaker (1982-1991), T.R. Oke (1992-1996), Graeme Wynn (1996-2002), Michael Bovis (2002- 2005), Graeme Wynn (2005-2009), David Ley (2009-2012), Marwan Hassan (2012- ).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places