University of British Columbia. President's Office

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

University of British Columbia. President's Office

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Office of President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of British Columbia is a position that provides oversight and direction for the University's operation following the strategic framework and recommendations of the Board of Governors and the Senates (Vancouver and Okanagan). The President's duties, powers, responsibilities, and offices are specified under the British Columbia University Act. The commission of the President (63) includes the President as a member of the Board of Governors and chair of the Senates. They are also members of the Senate's standing (permanent) committees, except for the standing committee on appeals. They are a member of each faculty, and in the absence of the chancellor, they must confer degrees in their place. Under the Act (59), the President can recommend appointments and promotions. They may also remove teaching and administrative staff, summon faculty meetings, authorize lectures and instruction in any faculty, and establish any committees the President may consider necessary. The President's duties (62) include preparing and publishing annual reports on the University's progress, highlighting any essential recommendations to the Board of Governors and the Senate and reporting on any matter referred to the President by the Board of Governors or the Senate. In addition, the President must submit an annual budget and present the submissions to the Minister of Education.
Frank F. Wesbrook was recruited as the University's first President in 1913. He continued in this position until he died in 1919. He was succeeded, in turn, by Leonard S. Klinck (1919-1944), Norman A.M. MacKenzie (1944-1962), John B. MacDonald (1962-1967), Walter Gage (1967-1968), Kenneth Hare (1968-1969), Walter Gage (1969-1975), Douglas Kenny (1975-1983), George Pedersen (1983-1985), Robert Smith (1985) and David Strangway (1985-1997), Martha Piper (1997-2006 ), Stephen J. Toope (2006-2014), Arvind Gupta (2014-2015), Martha Piper (once more) (2015-2016), Santa J. Ono (2016-2022), Interim President Deborah Buszard from Oct. 2022-Nov. 2023 and Dr. Benoit-Antoine Bacon (Nov. 2023-present). The duties and functions of the President's Office have expanded with the growth of the University. Until 1968, the UBC Presidents carried out their responsibilities by assisting various faculty members. In 1968, President Hare appointed William Armstrong, Walter Gage, and William White as acting Deputy Presidents. He delegated the President's Office multiple responsibilities. When Gage became President following Hare's resignation in 1969, White and Armstrong became Deputy Presidents. The Deputy President's positions continued until 1975 when they were replaced with four vice presidents under President Kenny. In 1987, the vice-presidents' duties were divided into Administration and Finance, Academic, Student and Academic Services, and Research.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places