MINUTES

SAFETY COMMITTEE

Department of Theatre

August 25, 1983

cc.

R. A. Grant - Director - Employee Relations (2)
Dr. Brockington - Head - Department of Theatre
A.U.C.E.
Ian Pratt
Sherry Darcus
Michael McGee
Don Griffiths
John Henrickson
Rose Marie Heselton
Robert Eberle
Carol Fisher

Minutes of the first meeting of the Safety Committee - Department of Theatre

August 25, 1983 - 1:00 p.m.

Persons present at the meeting were:

Ian Pratt
Sherry Darcus
Michael McGee
Don Griffiths
John Henrickson
RoseMarie Heselton
Robert Eberle
Carol Fisher

- It was moved and seconded that Carol Fisher be made Secretary. The motion was passed.
- There was general discussion regarding the position of Chairman of the committee.
- It was moved and seconded that Ian Pratt be made Chairman of the Safety Committee. The motion was passed.
- It was moved and seconded that the term of the Safety Committee be from August 1 to August 1 when there would be an annual general meeting for electing new members. The motion was passed.
- General discussion regarding frequency of meetings, how to implement the safety committee and the function of an inspection committee.
- General discussion regarding different divisions within the department. It was agreed that the department is generally divided into the following areas:

Shop Offices and classrooms Costume room Film Hut M24 and storage areas Props

- It was decided that 3 persons should make up the Safety Inspection Committee and that they should be from different areas of the department.
- It was moved and seconded that Don Griffiths, Michael McGee and Sherry Darcus should make up the Safety Inspection Committee. The motion was passed.
- The Safety Inspection Committee will make its initial inspection after which the next meeting will be called where the findings of this committe can be discussed and a decision made as to the frequency of meetings and inspections and how best to carry out the functions of the Safety Committee.
- The meeting was adjourned at 2:15 p.m.