Series - Zosha Di Castri

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Zosha Di Castri

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

3.5cm of textual records and other materials

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

(1985 -)

Biographical history

Zosha Di Castri was born in Calgary, Alberta in 1985, and grew up further north in St. Albert. She is an established composer-performer who earned her bachelor’s degree in Music from McGill University in Montréal, focusing on piano performance and composition, before obtaining a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from Columbia University in New York City. Since then, her work has been performed in Canada, the United States, South America, and Asia. Her compositions extend beyond purely concert music, however, including projects with electronics, sound arts, and collaborations with video and dance. In 2012, she received the Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music for her work Cortège. More recently, she completed a year-long fellowship at the inaugural Institute for Ideas and Imagination in Paris and now resides in New York City, where she serves as the Francis Goelet Assistant Professor of Music at Columbia.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Series consists of scores, sketches, notes, edited drafts, correspondence, inspirational materials, and photographs related to Zosha Di Castri’s composition Sprung Testament: Duo for Violin and Prepared Piano. The work is a collaborative piece between composer/pianist Di Castri and violinist Jenny Koh. Koh was planning a series of concerts for National Sawdust, an innovative arts institution located in Brooklyn, New York, and reached out to various composers/performers to participate. Koh set the theme of the concert, asking each composer to engage with the idea of rebirth and evolution. In response, Di Castri wrote Sprung Testament which encapsulates the concepts of spring and rebirth. In their conversations, the two musicians questioned the journey one goes through in life to transcend personal struggles. Di Castri used sticky mounting putty to modify the piano, thereby creating unique sounds and highlighting Koh’s theme of transformation. Print photographs of the prepared piano can be found in the "Images" file of the fonds. Koh and Di Castri premiered Sprung Testament at National Sawdust on March 15th, 2018.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Physical description

3.5cm of textual records ; and 5 col. photographs

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres